Arabic for Nerds two

A grammar compendium – 450 questions about Arabic grammar

  • August 2018
  • Publisher: pochemuchka books
  • 548 pages
  • Language: English
  • Price: € 26,99 / $ 25,99 / £ 21,99 / Hardcover: $ 29,99
  • ISBN-13: 978-3-9819848-0-4
  • ISBN-13 (Hardcover): 978-3-9819848-1-1
  • E-book, paperback and hardcover are available at amazon, The Book Depository and almost all other booksellers.
Arabic for Nerds 2

Summary

Have you been in the following situation? You know every single word in an Arabic sentence, but you don’t have a clue what the sentence is all about? The painful reason is: you don’t understand the grammar.

Arabic for Nerds two aims to transform grammar, a subject that is hated by many people, into an understandable and enjoyablesubject. This is not another boring grammar book. ARABIC FOR NERDS 2 will teach you in an entertaining way how to dissect a sentence, how to identify the function of letters, words, and syntax – in short: the I’rab.

It is specifically intended for advanced learners.

Reviews

This book has got to be every serious (nerdy) Arabic student’s dream. It's just brilliant.

The Arabic Pages

The author has managed to simplify the complex issues   associated with Arabic. He has added relevant information about former Arabic grammarians. Also, by discussing 450 grammatical questions he has succeeded in making learning Arabic relatively easy–a hard task but will-achieved. Highly recommended.

Rami Yelda, amazon.com

I keep it on my desk and read 2-3 random sections a day. It brings back the feeling of reading dictionaries or encyclopedias as a kid. hey are written as though you are sitting with a friend who *really* gets it and is happy to explain it to you. Easy to breeze through, and it isn't difficult to skim through the list of topics if you are looking for something specific.

Timothy, amazon.com

Gerald Drißner has produced a comprehensive compendium of nettlesome and problematic issues plaguing non-native students of Arabic more likely than not from the first one that ever tried to learn Arabic. The second volume following its concomitant Arabic for Nerds is a heavy tome (both literally and figuratively) weighing in at 828 pages (including the very useful index) and is decidedly not for the faint of heart.

Reginald Lee Hefner, Arabic teacher, University of Pennsylvania
Islam for Nerds
Arabic for Nerds 1
In einem Land das neu beginnt
Schwarzer Tee und Blaue Augen
Als Spion am Nil

Arabic for Nerds two

A grammar compendium – 450 questions about Arabic grammar

(450 Fragen zur arabischen Grammatik)

August 2018, 828 Seiten; Sprache: Englisch
ISBN-13: 978-3-9819848-0-4
ISBN-13 (Hardcover): 978-3-9819848-1-1

E-Book, Taschenbuch und Hardcover sind bei amazon, The Book Depository sowie bei nahezu allen Buchhändlern erhältlich.

Arabic for Nerds 2

Inhaltsangabe

Kennen Sie die folgende Situation? Sie kennen jedes einzelne Wort in einem arabischen Satz und dennoch haben Sie keine Ahnung, was der Satz bedeutet? Dafür gibt es meistens eine Erklärung: Sie verstehen die Grammatik nicht.

ARABIC FOR NERDS two erklärt die arabische Grammatik. Es gibt dem Arabischlernenden alle Werkzeuge, die er braucht, um einen arabischen Satz richtig zu analysieren – egal, ob der Satz aus einem Kinderbuch oder dem Koran stammt.

Es ist speziell für Fortgeschrittene gedacht.

Stimmen zum Buch

Dieses Buch muss der Traum eines jeden ernsthaften (nerdigen) Arabisch-Studenten sein. Es ist einfach brillant.

The Arabic Pages

Der Autor hat es geschafft, komplexe Fragen zur  arabischen Sprache zu vereinfachen. Er hat relevante Informationen von Grammatikern des klassischen Arabischen hinzugefügt. Durch die Präsentation von 450 Fragen ist es ihm außerdem gelungen, das Erlernen der arabischen Sprache relativ einfach zu machen - sehr empfehlenswert!

Rami Yelda, amazon.com

Ich habe das Buch auf meinem Schreibtisch liegen und lese 2 bis 3 (zufällig ausgewählte) Fragen pro Tag. Ich bekomme dadurch das Gefühl wieder, das ich als Kind hatte, als ich Wörterbücher oder Enzyklopädien las. Das Buch ist so geschrieben, als säße man mit einem Freund zusammen, der die Materie wirklich versteht und sie gerne erklärt.

Timothy, amazon.com

Gerald Drißner hat ein umfassendes Kompendium von nervtötenden und problematischen Themen geschrieben, die Nichtmuttersprachler plagen, und zwar höchstwahrscheinlich schon seit dem ersten Versuch, Arabisch zu lernen. Der zweite Band ist ein schwerer Wälzer (sowohl im wörtlichen als auch im übertragenen Sinne) mit 828 Seiten - und ist wirklich nichts für schwache Nerven.

Reginald Lee Hefner, Arabisch-Lehrer, University of Pennsylvania
Islam for Nerds
Arabic for Nerds 1
In einem Land das neu beginnt
Schwarzer Tee und Blaue Augen
Als Spion am Nil